• Decrease font size
  • Default font size
  • Increase font size

Milton Keynes Hospital Salutes Staff Staff and Volunteers


Staff and volunteers came together last night (Wednesday September 12) to celebrate the work of everyone at Milton Keynes Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.

The fourth Annual Staff and Volunteer Awards Ceremony saw a record number of nominations – 85 – from colleagues, volunteers and patients. As a result, Chairman David Wakefield, along with his fellow judges on the panel, had a very tough time selecting the winners in each category with such a strong field of nominations.

The winners were:

Category: Setting an Example

Winner: Vanessa Cook, Endoscopy Advanced Nurse Practitioner

Vanessa was nominated by several patients and is described by many as an exceptional nurse, an example to all her colleagues and a credit to the NHS. Working with patients following a bowel cancer diagnosis, she is a tower of strength to them and their families.

Category: Self-Awareness

Winner: Chris Beard, Night Nurse Practitioner

Chris was nominated by six of her colleagues who all praised her skill, dedication and willingness to seek feedback from others so she can continue to learn and improve. She is a real asset to the Trust.

Category: Governors' Award

Winners: Sheila Hoare and Hilary Auchterlonie, Housekeepers

Sheila and Hilary won this special award for their remarkable work ethic and loyalty to the Trust. They accepted a job share position which meant a drop in their personal income, but have continued to work really well together and help ensure the hospital is clean and safe for patients.

Category: Working Together

Winner: Tony Styles, Patient Pathway Co-ordinator

A vital job, the Patient Pathway Co-ordinator is the link between clinicians and patients. He is recognised by patients as having the time and dedication to listen and ensure they are happy with appointments. He also has the complete trust and support of all his clinical colleagues.

Category: Star Volunteers

Winner: Diane Ashpool

As a volunteer fundraiser, Diane plays a vital role both in the office and supporting fundraising events in all weathers. Her pride about the important work the hospital does and why every penny raised is vital has made Diane a very credible and persuasive fundraising ambassador for the hospital in the Milton Keynes community.

Category: Pride and Enthusiasm

Winner: Veronica Adolpho, Ward Clerk

Ronnie, as she is known, is the first person any patient, visitor or staff member meets on Ward 20. She was nominated for always greeting people with a smile and making them feel welcome. Her communication skills were also praised for the way she can reassure and talk with sometimes distressed relatives who call in the morning to see what kind of night their loved ones have had.

Category: Openness

Winner: Breast Imaging Team

Over the last year the team have delivered above and beyond what was expected of them, working outside of their normal hours to promote the importance of breast screening across all local communities in Milton Keynes. As a result, groups with previously low response rates to screening invitations are now responding in greater numbers. The team have embraced this extra workload and willingness to go the extra mile without the slightest complaint.

Category: Patient Safety Improvement of the Year

Winner: Mark Baverstock, Respiratory Advanced Nurse Practitioner

Working with frail and vulnerable people with breathing difficulties, Mark has been tireless in his efforts to improve the experience they have in hospital, as well as improve their quality and length of life. Through patient and staff education and the introduction of innovative schemes, Mark has significantly improved patient safety in this area.

Category: Pressing for Change

Winner: Liz Clark, Admission Avoidance and Ambulatory Pathway Project Lead

With a firm commitment to make systems better for patients, Liz has successfully led a project that ensures more patients are treated in the right place, at the right time and by the right clinician. Her collaborative approach, motivation and enthusiasm has led to changes that deliver higher quality and more effective patient care.

A Special Young Volunteers Award was also given to Dominic Moss, Alice Stewart, Alainah Mirza, Rhia-Louise Nixon and Sophia Natale who gave up a whole day of their summer break to talk to local people in Milton Keynes and encourage them to get more involved in their local Foundation Trust.

In addition to the above category winners, a further 23 individuals and teams received Highly Commended awards emphasising the high quality of nominations and valuable work that is done right across Milton Keynes Hospital.

Chairman, David Wakefield, said: "These awards celebrate the passion, enthusiasm and pride staff and volunteers at Milton Keynes Hospital have for providing quality care to their patients. I was very encouraged to see the largest number of nominations for awards from patients that we have ever had – a real testament to the fact that the efforts of our staff and volunteers do not go unnoticed by the most important of all people in the hospital.

"The winners, the highly commended and indeed everyone who was nominated for an award can feel very proud of the exceptional contribution they have made to the work at Milton Keynes Hospital. We are very fortunate to have such hard working and dedicated staff."


Notes to editors

Attached is a photograph of all the winners with Trust Chairman David Wakefield.

For further information please contact Leigh Kendall, Acting Head of Communications, Milton Keynes Hospital NHS Foundation Trust on 01908 826937 or email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.